ADA Delegation

As one of the 54 state dental associations chartered by the American Dental Association, the Illinois State Dental Society takes part in the governance of the ADA by sending a delegation of member dentists to the annual meeting of the ADA House of Delegates. This delegation is composed of 19 delegates and 19 alternate delegates chosen by the ISDS members to represent them in making decisions affecting approximately 176,000 members across the nation.

In Illinois, since most of the dentists practice in the greater Chicago area, about 2/3 of the delegates and the alternates come from the Chicago Dental Society region. The remaining delegates and alternates are geographically spread throughout the rest of the state according to a plan established by the ISDS Board of Trustees.


ADA Delegation Chart: